RSS

Echoes of the Past Sprout New Beginnings

04 Oct

What could I possibly be referring to with that post title?

Our over-consumptive, blissful foray into BAU-American dream-living is over. It’s been dead for quite some time and although we have been severely affected economically, I’m quietly content inside. I see the direct positive environmental impact locally in the succession of flora that are re-establishing themselves in long ago abandoned developments. On the other hand, I’m also aware that there is a sinister side to the economic downturn: we’ll stop at nothing to make it go again. To paraphrase the garden-tender in Colin Beavan’s movie, No Impact Man,  “Things are getting worse and better at the same time.”

Eric and I have taken a stance of actively reducing our environmental impact, not just for the sake of the environment but for a better quality of life and to increase our adaptability for unforeseen future events. We are starting a new project and venture at a place we’ll just call the Bohemian Beach Bungalow. This is a place that my family has inhabited for the last forty years. It’s modest at 750 sq. ft. and the total land area is 50’x100′. The location is not what we would choose, if we were starting from scratch, but it’s what we have to work with at the moment.

Between seed and sprout updates, I’ll be giving accounts of this new venture. We’ve recently completed a one year, pay-as-you-go renovation of the structure. Moving forward, we’ll be sharing our attempts at lessening our dependance on the tenets of Industrial Civilization. While we recognize and appreciate the vast advantages of living in this civilization, we also acknowledge the strain and disadvantage our modern lifestyle places on the environment and other humans. We also know that completely separating ourselves from all technological advancement is a near impossibility, if we are to physically survive and effect change within our human community. As a result, our efforts may seem disingenuous to some. I can only say that we will be moving through this as consciously as possible and facing our challenges as they are presented.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2010 in Bohemian Beach Bungalow, DIY

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Echoes of the Past Sprout New Beginnings

  1. eric

    October 4, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    The challenges will no doubt be…uh, challenging….but oh what fun we’ll have as we proceed forward. I am really and truly looking forward to it!

    Now where did I put that shovel?

     
  2. Allison Hausner

    October 17, 2010 at 1:29 am

    Hello there! I met you at the farmer’s market today and bought some kale and carrot seeds. It’s great to meet someone else who cares about the environment and their impact upon it. I’ve tried over the years to live greener, but now my health is making me do it. I’m working on growing my own little organic garden now. I can’t wait to plant the seeds I got from you today. I’m getting them started in doors first before they make the journey out into my garden.

    Once I get my garden planed out, I’ll be back for more seeds!

    By the way, do you ever post anything on your Etsy page?

     
    • elitrope

      October 17, 2010 at 1:36 pm

      Allison,

      Hello, it was pleasure to meet you at the market. Thanks for stopping by. Please let me know how the garden grows. I like to hear what people are having successes and challenges with in our zone.

      I hope to have some things up on Etsy in the next few weeks. I just designed new packages for my seed and will have those printed this week. I’ll keep my FB page posted with developments.

      Hope to see you again soon. Best, Chandra

       

Leave a Reply

 
