RSS

Sunnys and Fridays

16 Apr

Friday is the day that I spend getting ready for the Seaside Farmers Market. This Friday marks the beginning of selling sunnys or sunflower shoots. I’ve grown them over the years, though I never had success to the degree that I felt it was a worthy venture to pursue. It appears that I just didn’t have the right growing medium mix and light requirements. Enjoy!

Sunnys on display

Elevated flats of sunflower shoots ready to be cut.

Sunflower Shoots

Bowl of sunnys

Sunny Lunch

Sunny and walnut salad

Bowl of Sunnys

Bowl of Sunnys

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2011 in Sprouts & Micro-greens

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Sunnys and Fridays

  1. Lisa

    April 27, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Wow – those are gorgeous and delicious looking 🙂 . Can you tell me your secret? Which growing medium are you using and where do you prefer to get your seed?

    Thanks!

    Lisa

     
  2. elitrope

    April 27, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    Hi Lisa! Thanks! I hope to write a post in the near future about my different growing experiments with the micros and shoots. The short version is that I used a 50/50 mix of organic potting soil and organic mushroom compost for the growing medium. I add an 1/8 cup of Azomite to the mix. I get the Azomite and sunflowers seeds from wheatgrasskits.com

    I buy from several different suppliers, but I always buy organic and non-GMO, if available.

    Chandra

     

Leave a Reply

 
