RSS

Roasted Beets and Baby Greens

14 Mar

I’m often mistaken for a vegetarian. It’s human to project onto others what we need to right the world in our own minds. I just find the shock and awe a little amusing. I can’t know for sure, but I think I’ve lost a few customers who “discovered” my secret. It’s not really a secret. The fact that I sell vegetable and sprout seeds doesn’t preclude one from being an omnivore. It’s the sprout thing that trips people up. The two are not mutually exclusive. I can be an omnivore AND I can be a proponent of eating fresh vegetables, including sprouts. It’s all about eating a fresh diet that is varied, local, individualized, and selected with conscious.

That first paragraph was just to warm you up for an all vegetable dish I wanted to share, except for the cheese, which could be omitted. I’m the type of cook who looks around to see what’s on hand, then finds a recipe using those ingredients. By default, I end up making meals that are often all vegetables, local, and in season. Without pretense, I wanted to share this yummy creation. Really, I just wanted to show off my husband’s photo, so do take a look below.

Roasted Beet and Kale Salad

photo courtesy of e.m.marcus | photography

Amazing right? I found several beet salad recipes that looked worthy, though I mixed mine up a bit. Here’s my rendition for Roasted Beets and Baby Greens.

Ingredients for dressing:
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
3/4 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon of lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon Dijon or live mustard
1 small garlic clove, finely minced
Salt and freshly ground pepper
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Put everything together in a jar with a tight fitting lid and shake well.

Ingredients for Salad:

2-4 large beets or several small beets, roasted, peeled, and cut in half and then 1/4″ slices
4-6 cups mixed baby greens: kale, chard, beet greens, chinese cabbage, mustard, etc.
Goat Cheese (optional)

Roast the beets by placing them whole (greens trimmed off) in a covered shallow baking dish with 1/4″ of water in the bottom and bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes at 400 degrees F. While the beets are roasting, wash the greens and chop into smaller 1″ pieces. Heat a tablespoon of your favorite cooking fat (olive oil, butter, coconut oil, etc.) in a pan and saute the greens until they are slightly wilted but still retain their texture.

When the beets are finished roasting, let them cool then peel and slice. Toss them and the greens in a large bowl with the dressing. Top with a soft cheese like goat cheese.

The beets I used above came from my local farmers market and are Chioggia and Golden Beets. They make for a striking dish compared to regular red beets, but you could use those too. We sell both of those types of heirloom beet seeds and the kale at our online shop.

Yum!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Roasted Beets and Baby Greens

  1. The Wooden Bee (@TheWoodenBee)

    March 16, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    Yum! What a pretty photo. I am always looking for new ways to use beets. We will have to give it a try. Thanks.

     
  2. elitrope

    March 18, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    @woodenbee me too, and greens. I left the market yesterday with my pile of purchased greens and lo and behold, I was bestowed with more greens from vendors who didn’t sell out. It’s going to be a week of freezing dehydrating, sauteing, and making soups. I’m so ready for fresh tomatoes and squash. LOL!

     
  3. latetedelegumes

    March 22, 2012 at 12:07 am

    Hello! I just wanted to let you know that I really enjoy your blog and I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award & the Very Inspiring Blogger award: http://latetedelegumes.wordpress.com/2012/03/21/the-versatile-blogger-award-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    :] Merci,
    Taissa

     
  4. filingawaycupcakes

    March 22, 2012 at 12:35 am

    Beets are so lovely, I cannot remember the last time I had some. I will have to remed that!

     

Leave a Reply

 
